Local Adopt-A-Stream Programs

  • Workshops covering watershed assessments and visual monitoring, chemical and biological monitoring
  • Assistance in identifying streams to adopt and registering your streams
  • Answers to questions about the program
  • Resources such as maps and monitoring equipment
  • Outreach activities for local community groups and schools
  • General assistance in organizing your AAS program
RegionName  
  RegionService AreaCoordinatorContact InformationOrganization

RegionName: All

  All Harold Harbert harold.harbert@gaepd.org
(404)651-8514
http://AdoptAStream.Georgia.gov
Environmental Protection Division, DNR - EPD
  All Jenna Dodson jenna.dodson@dnr.ga.gov
(404)651-8512
http://AdoptAStream.Georgia.gov
Georgia Adopt-A-Stream, GA DNR, Environmental Protection Division
  All Bailey Crapps bailey.crapps@dnr.ga.gov
(404)651-8515
http://AdoptAStream.Georgia.gov
Georgia Adopt-A-Stream, GA DNR, Environmental Protection Division

RegionName: Coastal Georgia

  Coastal Georgia Tom Bliss tbliss@uga.edu
(912)598-2348 ext. 107
http://www.marex.uga.edu/shellfish/vols.html
 
  Coastal GeorgiaBrunswick; St. Simons Island; Jekyll IslandJan Mackinnon jan.mackinnon@dnr.ga.gov
(912)264-7218
http://coastalgadnr.org/cm/wet http://coastalgadnr.org/LivingShorelines
GA DNR-CRD
  Coastal GeorgiaBryan County; Chatham CountyKristin Peney kristinp@landings.org
(912)598-2578
The Landings Association
  Coastal GeorgiaCamden CountyJessica Warren jkwarren@uga.edu
(912)576-3219
Camden County Extension
  Coastal GeorgiaChatham County; Camden County; Glynn County; Brantley County; Bryan County; Charlton County; Effingham County; Liberty County; Long County; McIntosh County; Wayne CountyLuke Roberson Luke.Roberson@uga.edu
(912)598-2446
UGA Marine Extension Service / GA Sea Grant
  Coastal GeorgiaOgeechee Coastal WatershedDamon Mullis damon@ogeecheeriverkeeper.org

Ogeechee Riverkeeper
  Coastal GeorgiaSaint Marys River WatershedThomas Weiland thomas.weiland@gsw.edu
(229)815-0551
 
  Coastal GeorgiaSaint Marys River WatershedAnna Laws anna@stmarysriverkeeper.org

St. Marys Riverkeeper
  Coastal GeorgiaSatilla River Watershed; Glynn CountyRachael Thompson gec@glynnenvironmental.org
(912)466-0934
http://glynnenvironmental.org
Glynn Environmental Coalition
  Coastal GeorgiaSatilla River Watershed; Glynn County; Brantley County; Ware County; Wayne County; Charlton County; Coffee County; Camden CountyLaura Early riverkeeper@satillariverkeeper.org
(912)462-5094
http://www.satillariverkeeper.org
Satilla Riverkeeper

RegionName: East Georgia

  East GeorgiaAtkinson County; Bacon County; Berrien County; Ben Hill County; Brantley County; Coffee County; Brooks County; Cook County; Clinch County; Charlton County; Echols County; Irwin County; Lanier County; Lowndes County; Pierce County; Tift County; Turner County; Ware CountyErica McLelland emclelland@sgrc.us
(229)300-0914
SGA Regional Commission
  East GeorgiaAugusta; Richmond County; Middle Savannah River WatersheRuth Mead ruth.mead@phinizycenter.org
(706)396-1411
http://www.phinizycenter.org
Phinizy Center for Water Sciences
  East GeorgiaAugusta; Richmond County; Upper Savannah River Watershed; Middle Savannah River Watershe; Lower Savannah River WatershedFrank Carl frankcarl@knology.net
(706)364-5253
http://www.savannahriverkeeper.org
Savannah Riverkeeper
  East GeorgiaBaldwin County; Milledgeville; Upper Oconee River WatershedRuth Eilers ruth.eilers@gcsu.edu
(478)445-0810
Georgia College & State University
  East GeorgiaBraselton; Jackson County; Upper Oconee River Watershed; Barrow CountyYvette Wise ywise@braselton.net
(706)654-3915 ext. 1012
Town of Braselton
  East GeorgiaBroad River WatershedJean Smith jss2holly@windstream.net
(706)340-3187
http://www.brwa.org
Broad River Watershed Association
  East GeorgiaUpper Oconee River Watershed; Athens; Clarke CountyKate Mowbray kate.mowbray@accgov.com
(706)613-3615 ext. 231
Sandy Creek Nature Center
  East GeorgiaUpper Oconee River Watershed; Athens; Clarke CountyBruno Giri education@uown.org
(706)308-4541
http://www.uown.org
Upper Oconee Watershed Network
  East GeorgiaUpper Oconee River Watershed; Oconee CountyVicki Soutar oconeewaters@gmail.com

UOWN/Oconee Waters

RegionName: Florida

  Florida Shelly Krueger krueger-shelly@monroecounty-fl.gov
(305)292-4502
 

RegionName: Metro Atlanta

  Metro AtlantaAlpharettaTerry Porter tporter@alpharetta.ga.us
(678)297-6200
http://alpharetta.ga.us
City of Alpharetta
  Metro AtlantaAtlantaKelly Rudell krudell@atlantaga.gov
(404)546-3383
City Of Atlanta Department Of Watershed Managment
  Metro AtlantaAtlanta; DeKalb County; Upper Ocmulgee River Watershed; Upper Oconee River WatershedDeborah Ortiz deborah.j.ortiz@gmail.com
(510)708-1372
EPA Office of Env Justice & Sustainability
  Metro AtlantaAtlanta; Fulton County; Upper Chattahoochee River WateJoseph Rigdon jrigdon@atlantaga.gov
(404)546-1245
City of Atlanta Department of Watershed Management
  Metro AtlantaAtlanta; RoswellRebekah Chapman rchapman@gsu.edu

GA State University
  Metro AtlantaAtlanta; Upper Middle Chattahoochee RivJessica Sterling jsterling@chattahoochee.org
(404)352-9828
Chattahoochee Riverkeeper
  Metro AtlantaCherokee CountyWill England will.england@ccwsa.com
(770)479-1813
Cherokee County Water and Sewage Authority
  Metro AtlantaCobb CountyMike Kahle michael.kahle@cobbcounty.org
(770)528-1482
Cobb County Water System
  Metro AtlantaCobb County; Etowah River Watershed; Upper Chattahoochee River WateJennifer McCoy Jennifer.McCoy@CobbCounty.org
(770)528-1482
Cobb County Water System
  Metro AtlantaCobb County; Fulton County; Upper Chattahoochee River WateWilliam Lott sue.bill314@gmail.com
(770)641-0942
Upper Chattahoochee Trout Unlimited
  Metro AtlantaDeKalb CountyMichael O'Shield msoshield@dekalbcountyga.gov
(770)724-1456
http://www.dekalbwatershed.com
DeKalb County Department of Watershed Management
  Metro AtlantaDouglas County; DouglasvilleAmy Reber ahorner@gsu.edu

GA State University
  Metro AtlantaEast Point; Fulton County; Upper Flint River WatershedFrances Kennedy fkennedy@eastpointcity.org
(404)762-5326
http://www.keepeastpointbeautiful.org
Keep East Point Beautiful Executive Director
  Metro AtlantaEast Point; Fulton County; Upper Ocmulgee River Watershed; Upper Flint River WatershedMelissa Echevarria mechevarria@eastpointcity.org
(404)270-7117
City of East Point Water/ Sewer
  Metro AtlantaEtowah River Watershed; Upper Tallapoosa Watershed; Upper Middle Chattahoochee Riv; Paulding CountyEric Eberly eric.eberly@paulding.gov
(770)617-4830
Paulding County Water System
  Metro AtlantaFayette CountyBen Martin bmartin@fayettecountyga.gov
(770)305-5230
Fayette County Enviromental Management
  Metro AtlantaFulton CountyShelley Lange shelley.lange@fultoncountyga.gov
(404)612-7768
http://www.fultoncountyga.gov/fcwr-home
Fulton County Dept of Public Works
  Metro AtlantaFulton CountyHannah Penn Hannah.Penn@fultoncountyga.gov
(404)612-0415
Fulton County Water Resources
  Metro AtlantaFulton County; Atlanta; Upper Chattahoochee River WateRobert Thomson rthomson@atlantaga.gov
(404)546-1338
City of Atlanta, Department of Watershed Management
  Metro AtlantaGriffin; Spalding County; Upper Flint River WatershedAlexa Robinson arobinson@cityofgriffin.com
(470)771-3358
http://www.cityofgriffin.com
City of Griffin Public Works
  Metro AtlantaGwinnett CountyJohn Butler john.butler@gwinnettcounty.com
(678)376-6914
Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources
  Metro AtlantaHenry CountyJeff Scott jeffrey.scott@hcwa.com
(678)414-7014
HCWA Cubihatcha Outdoor Center
  Metro AtlantaHenry County; McDonough; Upper Ocmulgee River WatershedJavier Sayago javier.sayago@conyersga.gov
(770)785-3808
City of Conyers
  Metro AtlantaJohns Creek; Fulton County; Upper Chattahoochee River WateGanesh Venugopal geeveepal@yahoo.com
(770)789-9966
Johns Creek resident
  Metro AtlantaLaGrange; Upper Middle Chattahoochee RivHannah Bradford lhbradford92@gmail.com
(706)882-3701
 
  Metro AtlantaPaulding CountyTim Pugh timothy.pugh@paulding.gov
(770)222-6850
 
  Metro AtlantaUpper Chattahoochee River WateAnnie Couch ann_couch@nps.gov
(678)538-1399
Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area

RegionName: North Georgia

  North Georgia Raleigh Keagan raleighkeagan@gmail.com
(828)837-5414
 
  North GeorgiaConasauga River Watershed; Chatsworth; Murray CountyBrenda Jackson bljack@uga.edu
(706)695-3031
http://www.ugaextension.org/murray
Murray County Extension Office
  North GeorgiaDahlonega; Dawsonville; Cumming; Lumpkin County; Dawson County; Forsyth CountyKen Fahey kfahey@mac.com
(706)974-9560
Keep Forsyth County Beautiful/Upper Etowah River Association
  North GeorgiaEtowah River WatershedLori Forrester brenaucrew@hotmail.com
(770)479-1813 ext. 246
Cherokee County Water & Sewerage Authority
  North GeorgiaFloyd County; RomeJason Hosford jhosford@romega.us
(706)622-6434
Rome E.C.O Center
  North GeorgiaGainesville; Hall County; Upper Chattahoochee River WateTyler Sims tsims@gainesville.org
(770)532-7462
City of Gainesville Adopt-A-Stream
  North GeorgiaHabersham CountyRebecca Risser becca@soque.org
(706)754-9382
Soque River Watershed Association
  North GeorgiaHiawassee; Hiwassee Watershed; Union County; Towns County; Little Tennessee River Watersh; Clay County; Cherokee CountyCallie Moore callie@mountaintrue.org
(828)837-5414
https://mountaintrue.org/
Hiwassee River Watershed Coalition/ MountainTrue
  North GeorgiaRome; Floyd CountyEmma Wells ewells@romega.us
(706)236-4456
Keep Rome-Floyd Beautiful
  North GeorgiaUpper Coosa River WatershedAshley Ray aray@coosa.org
(706)232-2724 ext. 2
Coosa River Basin Initiative
  North GeorgiaUpper Coosa River WatershedKatie Owens kowens@tnc.org
(706)234-1404
The Nature Conservancy
  North GeorgiaUpper Coosa River Watershed; Etowah River Watershed; Oostanaula River Watershed; Coosawattee River Watershed; Conasauga River WatershedJesse Demonbreun-Chapman jesse@coosa.org
(706)232-2724
Coosa River Basin Initiative

RegionName: South West Georgia

  South West GeorgiaAlbany; Dougherty County; Lower Flint River WatershedMalloree Holcombe MLanier@flintriverquarium.com
(229)639-2650
Flint RiverQuarium
  South West GeorgiaBaker County; Miller County; Mitchell County; Decatur County; Seminole CountySteve Golladay sgollada@jonesctr.org
(229)734-4706
Jones Research Center
  South West GeorgiaDecatur County; Early County; Grady County; Miller County; Thomas County; Mitchell County; Baker CountyJulie Shutters j.shutters@yahoo.com
(229)723-3841
Golden Triangle RC&D Council
  South West GeorgiaLower Flint River Watershed; Americus; Kinchafoonee - Muckalee CreeksMichele Smith michele.smith@gsw.edu
(229)931-2332
Georgia Southwestern State Univ.
  South West GeorgiaLower Flint River Watershed; Middle Flint River WatershedRobert Gipaya robert@flintriverkeeper.org

Flint Riverkeeper

RegionName: Tennessee

  TennesseeChattanoogaRachel Head 1rachelhead@gmail.com
(423)785-3074
 
  TennesseeChickamauga River Watershed; Chattanooga; Dade County; Walker County; Catoosa County; Whitfield CountySarah Sweat sch@tnaqua.org
(423)785-3073
Tennessee Aquarium Conservation Institute